Shardul Thakur Replaces Axar Patel In India's T20 World Cup Squad

Axar Patel has been put on the stand-by players' list in India's T20 World Cup roster, with Shardul Thakur replacing him.

Shardul Thakur Replaces Axar Patel In India's T20 World Cup Squad
Shardul Thakur Replaces Axar Patel In India's T20 World Cup Squad

Shardul Thakur of the Chennai Super Kings has been named to India's T20 World Cup team, which will be hosted in the UAE and Oman from October 17 to November 14. Axar Patel has been transferred to the stand-by players' list, which also includes Shreyas Iyer and Deepak Chahar. Shardul has replaced Axar Patel in the team.

Shardul's inclusion in place of Axar is the only change to the squad, with Mumbai Indians all-rounder Hardik Pandya keeping his place despite concerns over whether he would be available to bowl following his recent recovery from injury. The BCCI named eight players to assist the team in its preparations in a press statement confirming India's selection for the competition. Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, Harshal Patel, Lukman Meriwala, Venkatesh Iyer, Karn Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed, and K Gowtham are the players in question. 

India had previously picked a preliminary 15-man roster for the forthcoming T20 World Cup on September 8, with Axar in the main squad and Shardul in the reserves. Following the conclusion of the T20 World Cup, India captain Virat Kohli turned to social media to announce that he will be standing down as captain of Team India in the shortest version of the game.

India will begin their campaign with a high-octane clash against arch-rivals Pakistan at the Dubai International Stadium on October 24.

India's next challenge will be against New Zealand at the same venue on October 31. The Virat Kohli-led side will then travel to Abu Dhabi to face Afghanistan on November 3. India's last two opponents for their Super12 stage games are yet to be decided. The winners from Group B from Round 1 and the runners-up of Group A will make it to India's group from the qualifying stage for the Super12s.

Notably, former India captain MS Dhoni, who is leading Chennai Super Kings in the ongoing Indian Premier League, will be mentoring the team during the tournament.

India squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami.

Stand-by players: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel.