Glenn Maxwell Names His T20 World Cup Squad, Includes No Indians

Glenn Maxwell, the captain of Australia's T20 World Cup team, has chosen five players from the past and present.

Glenn Maxwell Names His T20 World Cup Squad, Includes No Indians
Glenn Maxwell Names His T20 World Cup Squad, Includes No Indians

The International Cricket Council (ICC) is generating excitement for the T20 World Cup by publishing entertaining films on its social media accounts. On Monday, cricket's world governing body published a video on Twitter of Australia's Glenn Maxwell selecting five players, past and present, for his T20 World Cup team, and fans observed that no Indians were included.  Maxwell, who is currently playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2021 in the UAE, picked Afghan superstar Rashid Khan, West Indian all-rounder Andre Russell, England's talisman Ben Stokes, former Australian cricketers Adam Gilchrist and Shaun Tait as his "top 5 T20 players".

"Genius spinner and good with the bat as well, can field," Maxwell said of Rashid Khan. Speaking about Andre Russell, the Australian all-rounder, said: "Bowls fast, hits the ball out of the park. Extremely powerful player, another all-rounder. Someone who is unbelievable on the field, amazing athlete and will add anything to any T20 side."

"Gives you so much on the field. Can do anything with the bat, scores all around the ground," Maxwell said after naming Stokes as his third pick. The Aussie star named two of his compatriots in Gilchrist and Tait as his fourth and fifth picks.

"My wicketkeeper will be him. He'll be at the very top of the priority list. One of my favourite athletes to keep an eye on. Gets off to a fast start and smashes the ball for long distances." 

"Shaun Tait - I know how quick he was because I've played against him. He bowled absolute rockets even at the end of his career. I believe he will instil fear in any batter on the other end." 

The T20 World Cup Group Stage begins on October 17 with a doubleheader between co-hosts Oman and Papua New Guinea. The Super 12 stage will be where the big guns, such as India and Australia, will begin their campaign. India's opening match of the tournament will be against arch-rival Pakistan on October 24.